Tuesday, May 4, 2010

...glee...


I just finished watching Glee and all I really have to say is that it is a wonderful show. It is hilarious and wonderful and awesome...those are a lot of adjectives and I could even go on with the list but I will spare you. Seriously though, if you don't watch the show you totally should! Sometimes I like to sing the songs in my car and pretend I am as good a singer as the people on the show, who are like my age (which really makes you think about how untalented you are). And for all those who don't know me, I am a horrible singer, like legit awful. What is really unsettling is that my sister is a great singer, and dancer...all the talent. How unfair is that?

Anyway...just thought I would share my views on the awesome show! But really, watch it if you don't!

Tuesday, April 27, 2010

...sick...

Okay so think to yourself...what is the worst possible time to get sick during the semester? Dead week/finals week will most likely be the time that pops into your mind. Well guess what friends...it is dead week and I am sick!

I should have expected it though, I get the same thing twice a year: once in the fall and once in the spring. Now is the time for the spring round! It always follows the same pattern too:

1. my throat is really sore and it hurts to talk and swallow for about a day
2. many fluids come out of my nose and my head feels like it is going to explode for either a day or two
3. I cough like it's no one's business and sounds like a man because my voice has left my body from around one to three days

Right now I am only on step number 2...awesome. What makes this even better is the fact that I am supposed to give a presentation tomorrow and be taped interacting with students for a promotonial video for UK tomorrow...fantastic.

I think I am going to go take some medicine now and knock myself out for the night!

Monday, April 26, 2010

it's about time!

So...I know it has been a long time since I blogged and for that I am sorry. I knew this would happen to me...I just don't ever know what to write about! So this has the potential to be a long post...sorry! There are just a lot of things going on in my life right now, and many things that I have not yet shared with the blog world...

Something I find very exciting is the fact that I have completed my Student Teaching Abroad application and my regular Student Teaching application...I have turned both of these in and will know sometime in November where I am going to be student teaching and I cannot wait! Hopefully I will be in Ireland, or even Germany. I didn't think that I wanted to live in a non-English speaking country for 4 months but the COST director assured me that I would be placed in an English speaking school. She swears that Cologne in Germany has the best COST program for my major and that people usually do not have trouble with the language difference in their daily lives there. So I have entertained the thought of Germany and decided that I would still go if I was placed there. I've already been praying about my placement a lot, so I feel confident that wherever I get placed, that is where God wants me to go. I feel so excited, I cannot wait to find out where I am going!

The prospect of going abroad in January brings about the need to move back in with my parents...Now this I am not necessarily looking forward too. It does make the most sense money and lease wise, but its still not the most ideal situation. I move out of the apartment I have been living in for the past three years in about a month and that I find extremely crazy! The same 5 girls have lived in this house for such a long time, it is weird to think about not living with these people anymore and not seeing them everyday. We have to be out of the house by May 31st, but I am leaving for a cruise on the 22nd and need to have all of my stuff out by the time I leave, which is only like 4 weeks away. Do you know how much crap you develop in a house over three years time? A LOT! It is going to be a big task moving all of my stuff and cleaning everything!

Like I said, I am moving back into my parents house. However, I am moving into the basement and get to completely redo the bathroom and bedroom! This weekend I got the majority of my bathroom finished and I helped my mom clean out the closet off of the bedroom; which was quite an interesting experience since there was a lot of crap in there! I am very excited about my bathroom though... I still need to get a few little things but for the most part it is complete!

Well...seeing as how I have a ton of school work I should be doing, I think its time that I start on that. Hopefully I will be on here again shortly and not go 4 months again before blogging!

Thursday, December 17, 2009

...finally done...

So I just got back from my last final and I am finally done with this awful semester!! Unfortunately, this was the worst semester I've ever had for multiple reasons, which I will not get into...and I'm not really sure how I did on my finals. But the good news is that IT'S OVER!!! I can now fully focus on all my projects and things I need to get accomplished over winterbreak...and I feel very hopeful that next semester will be much smoother than this one was. So like I said I have a lot that I need to get accomplished during this month long break.

Things I need to do:

1. CLEAN MY ROOM! Okay, so my room is a huge disaster right now and has been for quite some time. I have a valid reason for the disaster though: I have too many clothes. I have a terrible shopping problem and whenever I bring home new clothes I realize that I have absolutely no where to put them...my closet and two dressers and all the space under my bed are all packed full with absolutely no more room for new pretty things. So, since there is no room for my clothes they have gathered in a huge pile on my floor. One of my goals this break is to go through all of my clothes and seriously get rid of like half of them...okay maybe not half. I went through my clothes not that long ago but did that thing where you see something you forgot you had and swear you were going to start wearing it. This time, if I haven't worn it in the past 6 months or so, then I am getting rid of it! I expect to probably have like 6 or more garbage bags full of clothes to take to Southland! After I go through clothes I can do put away all of my clothes and hardcore clean everything else in my room.

2. FILL OUT MY COST APPLICATION! You may or may not know that A. I am a Middle School Education Major and B. I am planning to do my student teaching abroad (hopefully in Ireland). COST is the student teaching overseas program and applications are due in March sometime, but I figure I would go on and get it done, that way I can focus on filling out scholarship applications and that kind of stuff. So, if someone feels like they want to write me a letter of recommendation that would be fantastic!

3. GET MY PASSPORT! My dad has been breathing down my neck for like 3 months about getting our passports and I figure I really need to get that done. Obviously I will need it for when I go to Ireland, but now I need it a lot sooner than originally planned. I wouldn't be leaving to do my student teaching until January 2011 but now I am going on a cruise at the end of May, which is in like 5 months...and we leave out of San Juan so I really need to go on and get the passport.

4. PAINT THE BATHROOM! I'm redecorating the bathroom in my parent's basement, because in June it will be my bathroom. Thats right, unfortunately I have to move back in with my parents for about 7 months before I leave for Ireland, it just makes the most since financially...still not ideal though. But the basement will be my own fake apartment, therefore I get to complete re-do the bathroom and bedroom. I know that it is a little early to start redocrating since I'm not moving in there for like another 6 months, but my sister is home and really wants to paint, so we might go on and just paint the bathroom.

5. I also have a couple of little projects that I just want to start over the break.

I think that is the majority of the things I have to do over the break...those and of course working and hanging out with friends. Well now that finals are finally over and I have this list of things ahead of me...I think I'm going to take a nap!

Saturday, December 12, 2009

...finals and friends...

So I basically really hate finals...and just school in general at this point. I have absolutely no motivation to do anything for school right now...so instead I am doing this and watching Friends Christmas episodes with my roommates. Here are a list of things I have done to put off school:
-blog
-play on facebook
-download music, especially from Glee
-watch tv, including: Say Yes to the Dress, House Hunters, Law and Order:SVU, Grey's Anatomy, Brothers and Sisters, Private Practice, The Office, So You Think You Can Dance, Glee, and many other random shows that successfully distract me from doing school work
-work
-think of how I am going to decorate my bedroom and my bathroom when I move out of my apartment
-go to brunch
-go to Pazzos
-exchange Secret Santa gifts with the roomies...which I love the earrings and scarf I got from Shannon and am so excited to wear the earrings tonight!
-and tonight I feel excited because I am going to P.F. Changs for my Bible Study's annual Christmas Dinner!

So you know how I said I was watching Friends earlier? Well, that is one of the best decisions I have made all day. I am not ashamed to admit that I have all 10 seasons and have seen every episode and can relate real life instances to Friends episodes. Well I have now realized that it is difficult to concentrate on the comic genius that is Friends while blogging...so I am going to focus my full attention on that now!

Thursday, December 10, 2009

...about me...

This blog thing keeps messing up so I don't even know if anyone can read this right now...but I'm just going to pretend that people can read it and continue onward!
So here is the deal...I never know what to say in the about me portion of things like this. Does anybody have any suggestions??

...first one...


Okay so everyone in my house started talking about making a blog and at first I really didn't want one...but they kept talking about it and made me want one. I don't really know how good I'm going to be at this or how often I am actually going to keep up with it but I am going to give it a shot. Another factor that played into officially making a blog was the fact that I really wanted to tell this story about what happened to me this past Tuesday.


So, right after one of my classes on Tuesday I really had to use the bathroom and ran straight to one of the bathrooms in the Classroom Building. As soon as I was getting ready to leave the stall, this coffee cup comes flying over my stall and lands right next to my backpack. I mean what the heck? Who just chucks and full cup of coffee in a bathroom and doesn't say anything about it? I cleaned the coffee off of my backpack and left the stall and there was only like one or two other people in there who didn't say a word. So I feel like I am either crazy and coffee cups are just falling from the ceiling or someone walked into the bathroom with a burning desire to chuck a full cup of coffee into a stall.


Anyway...that was a very interesting happening that I experienced the other day and I felt it was way to bizarre and strange to not share with the world!